Don’t Drink and Drive on New Year’s
Scrofano Law provided $10 off Uber rides for DC revelers in the wee hours of January 1, 2019. Make a bookmark – we’ll probably do it again for 2020!
(For 2020, see this page for a Surge Stopper program discount code).
Ride Safe – and get up to $10 Off your New Year’s Uber ride in the District
We don’t want Washington DC residents to drink and drive this New Year’s Eve, so we are offering a Special Promotion called the Scrofano Law Surge Stopper to help cover up to $10 of the cost of an Uber ride home.
Scrofano Law purchased Uber rides for DC revelers in the wee hours of January 1, 2019. Make a bookmark – we’ll probably do it again for 2020!
Why We Did
We’re Doing This
UBER can have notoriously high surge prices on New Year’s Eve after midnight, and surge can easily triple the price of a normal UBER ride home. We want to encourage riders to avoid drinking and driving and not be deterred from using UBER even during this surge period.
How It Works
e69n2da can be applied for up to $10 off per ride on up to 100 UBER rides that start or end within 5 miles of Logan Circle, in Washington D.C. within the promotion’s hours. The Scrofano Law Surge Stopper promotion begins at 12 midnight on New Year’s Eve (December 31, 2018) and runs through 4:00 AM on New Year’s Day (January 1, 2019). You will enter the code when the UBER account holder’s ride is confirmed.
What Happens If You Get a DUI in DC?
A DUI charge can be made with a BAC level of .07% or lower, and a DWI charge can be made with a BAC level of .08% or higher. “The legal limit is .08%, but people can be arrested and prosecuted even if they blow below .08 on a breathalyzer,” Scrofano warned. DC is also a “zero tolerance” jurisdiction, meaning that maximum BAC for drivers under the age of 21 is 0% and that driving while under the influence of mind-altering drugs, including marijuana can also lead to a DUI charge.
“If someone incurs a DUI charge in the District, they are booked, processed, cuffed, and taken to the police station. Their car is often towed. Sometimes they are released at the station with a citation to appear in court. Other times they are held overnight and not released by the judge until the next day. They can immediately lose their license if they don’t request a DMV hearing within 10 days of their arrest (in state) or 15 days if they have an out of state license.”
“We see a lot of clients who get DUIs around holiday times, and we know the personal toll it takes when they are arrested in terms of time, money and interference with jobs. Just for an arrest, someone can lose their driver’s license and their insurance rates can skyrocket. If convicted, they could face up to 180 days in jail. Here in Washington, D.C., an arrest can also cause problems with people who have security clearances, or on someone’s immigration status,” Scrofano said.
“A DUI conviction carries a maximum fine of $1,000 and/or 180 days in jail, and a DWI conviction can stay on your record for 15 years.”
“The biggest expense is often hiring a DUI attorney,” Scrofano continued.
“Our advice: if you’re going to drink, don’t drive. Use UBER or another rideshare app. Even if you need a $200 ride home, it will cost you less than a potential DUI.”
NEED AN ATTORNEY?